Jeffree Star Liquid Lipsticks – Worth The Fuss? Review and Swatches: Bold Shades

Jeffree Star Liquid Lipsticks Review and Swatches

Like anyone else who is at all interested in makeup, or is an Instagram user, or on social media in general I have witnessed the Jeffree Star Velour Liquid Lipsticks’ ascent to the forefront of the beauty community. In a cosmetic industry where matte liquid lipstick is all the rage at the moment, the variety by Jeffree Star Cosmetics is a highly popular choice. The line has only been on the market for around a year and a half but is already expanding quickly, with the launch of his “Skin Frost” highlighters and “Beauty Killer” eyeshadow palette on the 25th of May, and the prompt sell out of his liquid lipsticks soon after every restock. As any curious makeup fanatic, I was keen to try his lipstick formula myself. With all the hype around the product, one cannot help but wonder: is it really worth the fuss? I have accumulated several of the shades, and today I am going to show the bolder ones of my collection: Unicorn Blood, Dominatrix and Anna Nicole.

First a word about liquid lipsticks. There has been almost an infectious trend for this particular makeup product that has only grown over the past couple of years, with virtually every makeup brand keen to release their take on the product. Over the past few years the modern matte lip has become increasingly popular, and increasingly more matte. Everyone seems to be going potty over the long wear lip formula and matte finish seen on makeup artists and celebrities such as Kylie Jenner who has also, along with many other brands, capitalised on the trend and released her own line of liquid lipsticks. Despite the huge trend they have become they are not entirely without their cons; liquid lipsticks are notoriously drying, are not easily reapplied, and if you don’t find the right variety, they can chip off and leech all moisture from your lips.

I recall a few years back when the MAC retro matte lipstick finish was released and the coveted “Ruby Woo” was considered the most matte lipstick on the market. Today, however, there are some even more matte lipstick formulas that make Ruby Woo seem almost semi matte in texture. Another problem that seems to arise when it comes to matte liquid lipsticks is their ability to emphasise lines and wrinkles in the lips. Due to their lack of moisturising properties, they will inevitably settle into lines, and will tend not to apply as smoothly as a regular cream variety. The only people whom I can imagine escaping the wrath of the wrinkly lip are those ladies and gents out there with perfectly, almost unnaturally smooth, plumped lips; namely, those with lip fillers. Many times we will find ourselves wondering why our liquid lip does not seem to appear as smooth as those girls on social media, with their line free, luscious lips. We have to remember, ladies, that many of the photos shared to social media have been retouched and many of beauty influencers have undergone procedures such as lip fillers in order to achieve such a plump, line-free pout. So please do not feel disheartened if you find you cannot achieve the same look.

All embracing, I personally prefer pairing a long wear lip liner with a regular lipstick to a liquid lipstick, if I want to achieve a long lasting lip colour. However, I do enjoy experimenting with makeup, and trying new colours and finishes, and I do love the look that you can achieve with a matte liquid lip. I have tried out a hefty number of liquid lip formulas, some I have absolutely adored while others I have been disappointed by, and (spoiler alert) the Jeffree Star formula is among the best I have tried.

final
From left to right: Anna Nicole, Unicorn Blood, Dominatrix

One of the first lipsticks I purchased from Jeffree Star was cult favourite Unicorn Blood. I bought this around Autumn time because I thought it would be very fitting for the season. It is a deep brown-toned burgundy lipstick, described on the website as a “dark rusty matte red”. The formula applies like a liquid, as is of a much thinner consistency than other formulas on the market such as those from Stila, which are more mousse-like. Once applied, it dries matte and lasts for a lengthy amount of time before wearing off. I’d say I can achieve around 5 to 6 hours of even wear before the colour begins to wear off. When it does, it does chip slightly and peel off but not as badly as other formulas I’ve tried. Some of the shades have a stronger scent to them, which I initially thought of as being quite like some type of medicine for children, although I believe Jeffree Star mentioned the scent was root beer float.

final (5)
Wearing Unicorn Blood with minimal makeup on the rest of the face – I am not topless btw, just wearing an off the shoulder top 😉

The colours apply opaque and can be easily built upon, unlike some formulas on the market which tend to wear quite patchy if layered. The lipsticks provide an even application which can be difficult to come across, especially for dark shades of lipstick. I did not use a lip liner in the photo in an attempt to get the most accurate representation of the colour (which seems in vain, seeing as the photo quality is so poor anyway), but I would suggest lining the lips beforehand to make the job far easier, especially when working with such opaque, bold colours.

Dominatrix is a very dark brown, deep chocolate shade. Although not the most conventional colour, brown lips have increased in popularity as of late, and this shade is quite the statement. And yes, you best believe I have worn it out. In fact, I have worn all of Jeffree Star’s liquid lipsticks on long nights out, many times when I have pulled all nighters, through dancing and heat, and they all lasted considerably well, given the circumstances.

Anna Nicole is a fiery orange-red. This is one of the most recent of my purchases and I’m looking forward to wearing this a lot during the summer months. I love the effect a bright lip can give with minimal makeup on the rest of the face and tanned skin, although I think this shade would look equally beautiful on fairer skin tones than myself as well as very deep skin tones.

final (3)final (4)

Stay notified for my next blog post which will be up in a couple of days, where I will be showcasing the more everyday, neutral, wearable shades from the Jeffree Star line, including fan favourites such as Doll Parts, Androgyny and Celebrity Skin.

I understand this was a lengthy blog post, but I wanted to share my thoughts on the topic as well as review the product. If you did get through the entire post, however, I really appreciate it; my next beauty post will certainly not be quite as chatty as this one.

Wishing you love, light and laughter,
Shannon xx

© Shannon Feetham and withlovefromshannon.wordpress.com, 2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Shannon Feetham and withlovefromshannon with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

5 thoughts on “Jeffree Star Liquid Lipsticks – Worth The Fuss? Review and Swatches: Bold Shades

  1. “We have to remember, ladies, that many of the photos shared to social media have been retouched and many of beauty influencers have undergone procedures such as lip fillers in order to achieve such a plump, line-free pout.” This is totally true with Instagram. This was a great informative post! I’m now tempted to try Jeffree Star’s make up (I’m loving the Unicorn Blood color). I was wondering if you’ve tried Kylie Jenner’s lipstick. I’ve seen mixed reviews for it.

    Like

    1. Thanks for your feedback! I have not tried the Kylie lip products but I have heard many mixed opinions about them which has put me off purchasing them as of right now. I can say the Jeffree Star lipsticks are one of the more comfortable liquid lip formulas I’ve tried, though both lipstick lines can be difficult to get your hands on because they sell out so quickly.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

